Naviswiss - Startup of the month April

Updated: May 1, 2019

29th April 2019


Navigation systems for intraoperative support of the surgeon have been around for decades. However, their prevalence in clinical practice has so far been limited by two factors, namely the cost of acquisition and the cumbersome handling in the operating room with limited space. The company Naviswiss wants to address both limitations with its navigation system.


The product

Naviswiss has launched one of the smallest and most cost-effective navigation systems for use in orthopedics on the market. It gives the orthopedist a miniaturized tool to support the implantation of an artificial hip joint as planned. The handset is much smaller, easier to use and more cost effective than traditional navigation systems. These advantages benefit the orthopedic surgeon and the clinic, as well as the patients. Deviations are reduced to a minimum, which reduces the likelihood of complications and long-term consequences. This not only limits the cost of the treatment, but also increases the life of the hip implant and the quality of life of patients.

Prof. Schroeder-Boersch uses the system regularly and is convinced: "Naviswiss simplifies surgical navigation in order to improve quality. The surgeon has full control over the handset and receives the results immediately. In addition, a complete documentation of the operation is created.



The team

The team of CEO Jan Stifter is interdisciplinary and has expertise in engineering, medicine, marketing / sales and more.




Contact

Jan Stifter, CEO

jan.stifter@naviswiss.eu

Christian Calame, Marketing & Sales

christian.calame@naviswiss.eu



Status and next steps

In 2018, Naviswiss received the CE approval and launched the product in the market. Users in Europe and Australia have already used the system routinely. In addition to approval and marketing in other markets, Naviswiss is focusing its efforts on the further development of the navigation system as well as on well-functioning procurement and sales logistics. The next major steps will be the US launch in late 2019 and Japan in 2020.

4 views

Swiss Medtech

Swiss Medical Technology Association

Freiburgstrasse 3
3010 Berne

Switzerland

Member of:

New logo MTE 2017.png

Naviswiss – Startup of the month April

Aktualisiert: 1. Mai 2019

29. April 2019

Navigationssysteme zur intraoperativen Unterstützung des Chirurgen gibt es seit Jahrzehnten. Ihre Verbreitung im klinischen Alltag ist jedoch bislang limitiert durch Anschaffungskosten und umständlicher Handhabung im Operationssaal mit engen Platzverhältnissen. Das Unternehmen Naviswiss adressiert mit ihrem System beide Limitationen.



Das Produkt

Naviswiss hat eines der kleinsten und kostengünstigsten Navigationssysteme für den Einsatz in der Orthopädie auf den Markt gebracht. Es gibt dem Orthopäden ein miniaturisiertes Werkzeug in die Hand, mit dem er ein künstliches Hüftgelenk genauso wie geplant implantieren kann. Das Handgerät ist wesentlich kleiner, leichter zu bedienen und ausserdem kostengünstiger als herkömmliche Navigationssysteme. Von diesen Vorteilen profitieren der orthopädische Chirurg und die Klinik, aber auch die Patienten. Abweichungen werden auf ein Minimum reduziert, was die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Komplikationen und Spätfolgen verkleinert. Das senkt nicht nur die Heilungskosten, sondern erhöht auch die Lebensdauer des Hüftimplantates und die Lebensqualität der Patienten.

Prof. Schroeder-Boersch setzt das System regelmäßig ein und ist davon überzeugt: „Naviswiss vereinfacht die chirurgische Navigation, um damit die Qualität zu verbessern. Der Operateur hat die volle Kontrolle über das Handgerät und erhält die Resultate unmittelbar dann, wenn er sie benötigt. Zusätzlich wird eine lückenlose Dokumentation der Operation erstellt.“



Das Team

Das Team von CEO Jan Stifter ist interdisziplinär aufgestellt und verfügt über Expertise in den Bereichen Ingenieurwissenschaft, Medizin, Marketing/Verkauf und weiteren.



Kontakt

Jan Stifter, CEO

jan.stifter@naviswiss.eu

Christian Calame, Marketing & Verkauf

christian.calame@naviswiss.eu



Status und nächste Schritte

Im Jahr 2018 hat Naviswiss die CE Zulassung erhalten und das Produkt im Markt lanciert. Anwender in Europa und Australien setzten das System bereits routinemässig ein. Neben der Zulassung und Vermarktung in weitere Märkte fokussiert Naviswiss seine Kräfte in die Weiterentwicklung des Navigationssystems sowie in eine gut funktionierende Beschaffungs- und Verkaufslogistik. Die nächsten grösseren Schritte sind die Markteinführung in den USA gegen Ende 2019 sowie in Japan im Jahr 2020.

25 Ansichten

Swiss Medtech
Schweizer Medizintechnikverband

Freiburgstrasse 3
3010 Bern
Schweiz

Mitglied von:

New logo MTE 2017.png