Piavita - Startup of the month August

13th August 2019


Piavita is a Swiss-based medtech company that brings veterinary medicine into the 21st century. The company offers an innovative system for monitoring and recording vital signs of horses


The product

The Piavet system provides live vital data from horses. It minimizes the equipment needed to obtain the information the veterinarian needs to make a safe, evidence-based decision. The system is suitable, for example, for remote monitoring in the isolation box or colic monitoring, in cases of suspected cardiac arrhythmia or for monitoring during sedation. Respiration, heart rate and temperature are continuously recorded and sent to the veterinarian.



The team

Today, the company employs more than 35 people from over twelve countries. They all share the same vision: the development and implementation of high-tech medical devices to support veterinarians in their daily work.




Contact

Dorina Thiess, CEO

dorina.thiess@piavita.com



Status and next steps

Piavita was able to equip its first leading equine clinics in Europe and the USA with their Piavet system in the past six months. Further growth is planned - in the existing markets and beyond. Contacts with horse doctors, but also pharmaceutical and insurance contacts in the veterinary scene are helpful in expanding the customer base. Likewise, growth financing is scheduled towards the end of 2019.

Swiss Medtech

Swiss Medical Technology Association

Freiburgstrasse 3
3010 Berne

Switzerland

Member of:

New logo MTE 2017.png

Piavita – Startup of the month August

13. August 2019

Piavita ist ein in der Schweiz ansässiges Medtech-Unternehmen, das die Veterinärmedizin ins 21. Jahrhundert führt. Die Firma bietet ein innovatives System zur Überwachung und Aufzeichnung von Pferde-Vitaldaten.



Das Produkt

Das Piavet System stellt Live-Vitaldaten von Pferden bereit. Es minimiert die notwendige Ausrüstung zum Erhalt derjenigen Informationen, welche der Tierarzt benötigt, um eine sichere, evidenzbasierte Entscheidung treffen zu können. Das System eignet sich beispielsweise zur Fernüberwachung in der Isolationsbox oder Kolik-Überwachung, bei Verdacht auf Herzrhythmus-Störungen oder zur Überwachung während der Sedierung. Atmung, Herzfrequenz und Temperatur werden laufend erfasst und an den Tierarzt gesendet.



Das Team

Heute beschäftigt die Firma mehr als 35 Personen aus über zwölf Ländern. Sie haben alle die gleiche Vision: die Entwicklung und Implementierung von High-Tech Medizinprodukten zur Unterstützung von Tierärzten in ihrer täglichen Arbeit.



Kontakt

Dorina Thiess, CEO

dorina.thiess@piavita.com



Status und nächste Schritte

Piavita konnte im vergangenen halben Jahr erste führende Pferdekliniken in Europa und den USA mit ihrem Piavet-System ausstatten. Weiteres Wachstum ist geplant – in den bestehenden Märkten und darüber hinaus. Kontakte zu Pferdemedizinern, aber auch Pharma- und Versicherungskontakte in der Veterinärszene sind hilfreich, um die Kundenbasis auszubauen. Ebenso steht eine Wachstumsfinanzierung gegen Ende 2019 an.

16 Ansichten

Swiss Medtech
Schweizer Medizintechnikverband

Freiburgstrasse 3
3010 Bern
Schweiz

Mitglied von:

New logo MTE 2017.png